Scone Golf: May 25-27

Filed in Recent News, Sports Recent by May 29, 2017

By Lyn Banks

A very good field of men played a 2Ball and Individual Stableford at Scone Golf Course on Saturday, May 27. The winners of the Scott Shann and Duncan Yuille Trophy were Matt Langan and Phil McGuirk who had a great 48 points, and Scott Reid who won the individual prize with 44 points.

The scores were very good with ball winners needing 36 points or better. They were: Scott Reid 44, David Druce 42, Kevin Thompson 41, Jake Teague, Phil McGuirk 40, Warren Styles 39, Tom Hagan, Tony O’Neill, Rod Vaughan, Sean Constable 38, Matt Langan, David Walters, Lindsay Hodge 37, and Clayton Rogers 36.

The NTP on the 2nd / 11th was won by Jim Elder 2.25 metres whilst Warren Styles was the closest on the 8th / 17th at 1.72 metres.

On Saturday, June 3, the men will play an 18 Hole Stroke / Stableford for the Scone RSL Group Monthly Mug. It is also round 1 of the Winter Cup. On Sunday, locals and visitors will contest the Holden Scramble four person Ambrose. There is still availability for teams to enter and teams can comprise men and lady golfers.

The Hunter River District Men’s Sand Greens Championship was held at Murrurundi on Sunday, May 28 with some Scone players competing.

In ladies golf Jo Brown was the winner of the Doncaster Bistro Trophy on May 25 with 38 points. The runner up was Fiona Groom with 37 points who edged out Wendy Clift on a countback. These players received balls along with Sarah Howey 36 and Pam Manning 35 points. Kathy Robinson won the NTP on the 17th.

The Hunter River District pennant presentation 2017 with Pam Manning, Sue Watts, Lyn Banks and Juie Leckie.

The Hunter River District pennant presentation 2017 with Pam Manning, Sue Watts, Lyn Banks and Julie Leckie.

Representatives of the successful ladies pennant team attended the Hunter River District Presentation evening at Singleton on Saturday, May 27 to collect the pennant, perpetual Rosella Shield and individual prizes.

On Thursday, June 1 the ladies will play the 4th GNSW Medal Round and Monthly Medal for a Melanie’s Jewellers Trophy. It will also be the NSW Veterans Country Championship round.

In other ladies results on Wednesday, May 25 Lyn Banks won the Muswellbrook Open Dartbrook Cup for the best scratch score. Her 83 was two shots ahead of previous winner Kathy Bean from Muree.

The Red Tee Challenge continues on Sundays and is open to all players. The winner on Sunday, May 28 was Sean Constable 24 points and the runner up was Adam Moore with 23 points.